Matzah in Hebrew

During the Jewish festival of Passover, there is an observance of the blessing on matzah. The blessing is called the Motzi. It is the custom to recite this blessing on all the matzah that is eaten during the holiday.


Observant Jews eat matzah during Passover. It is a bread, which is baked without additives. The dough is rolled into thin sheets, which are then baked. The sheets are perforated many times, which helps to slow down leavening and prevents the dough from rising.

There are several different grains that can be used in making matzah. These grains include wheat, rye, oats, barley, and spelt. These grains are called Yoshon in Hebrew. The grains have to be rooted before the 16th of Nissan.

The word “challah” is actually a contraction of the phrase “dough offering.” In biblical times, this dough was offered to priests in the Temple in Jerusalem. This ritual was stopped when the Temple was destroyed by the Romans in 70 C.E. A round loaf or cake was then baked.

The phrase “Gebrochts” in Yiddish means broken or broken-off in Hebrew. This term is a reference to baking with matzah. The most popular Jewish custom is to braid a piece of dough, then put poppy seeds on top of it. This is to symbolize the sacrifice that was offered at the Temple.

The phrase “Motzi” is a type of blessing, and is a part of the Passover seder. This step is the seventh step in the seder. It is a symbolic gesture that represents all the foods that are eaten during the meal.

The Afiya Yisrael phrase is another referring to Jewish participation in baking. The Afiya Yisrael consists of the five grains mentioned above and the following two phrases: afiya means baked in Hebrew; yia means to bake in Yiddish. The yia is the small, fleshless seed of a plant.

The Matzah Ashirah is a enriched matzah, but it does not qualify as the real Matzah. It is made from flour that is kneaded with liquid. It can be eaten by those who cannot digest shmurah matzah, but it is not kosher for the Passover seder.


During the early ’80s, a London rabbi, Ephraim Kestenbaum, developed a gluten-free matzah from oats. His daughter had celiac disease, and he sought to eliminate her discomfort. He was able to isolate the gluten from wheat, and found that oats were different from wheat crops.

He decided to test the oats in the oven. When he began baking, he found that the oats were much less bitter than regular matzos. He contacted the Badatz of Manchester, who verified the product’s kosher status.

He then began producing oat matzah, and he has been doing so ever since. However, he has had trouble making the oat matzah the same size as wheat matzah. He says that it takes at least four days to produce oat matzah. He also says that it is difficult to make them in less than 18 minutes.

Despite the difficulties, he continues to sell oat matzah. He is willing to accept the inefficiency of his product, as he is committed to making a good product for the children.

After his success with gluten-free oat matzah, he moved his business to Israel. He is now located in Kfar Chabad, a central Israeli village. His oat matzah is sold through the Tiv Hashibolet bakery. He states that his goal is to produce a matzah that resembles wheat matzah. He also wants to avoid any implication of inferiority to children.

He writes that he is a chemist who discovered that oats are different from wheat crops. He explains that the water excretion from oats is similar to fruit juice, and it hastens the leavening process.

He states that he was able to make small batches of oat matzah, and cholim and cholim tzot.


Traditionally, kitniyot are banned on Passover. The kitniyot prohibition is often referred to as a “minhag” or custom. A minhag is a custom that is not included in the Torah. However, there is some dispute about the origin of the kitniyot ban.

The Shulhan Arukh book of Jewish law codified in the 16th century describes the prohibition of kitniyot in the same terms as the prohibition of chametz, which is leavened food. The rabbis who codified the ban in the 13th century were probably concerned that flour could be mixed with kitniyot.

Kitniyot is the standard Hebrew term for legumes, such as peanuts, beans, and rice. They are not the same as the forbidden grains hametz, which includes oats, barley, wheat, rye, and spelt.

The Torah prohibits the consumption of chametz on Passover. But the kitniyot ban has expanded to forbid the use of derivatives of the same, including rapeseed oil, soybean oil, and peanut oil.

The word kitniyot is derived from the Hebrew word kitnu, which means small. According to a legend, escaping slaves complained about the food they were eating. It is believed that they were eating kitniyot, which looked like hametz.

In the Middle Ages, Ashkenazi Jews stopped eating kitniyot on Passover. But the Sephardic Jews have a different approach. Unlike Ashkenazim, Sephardi Jews do not refrain from kitniyot on Passover.

Several rabbinic groups have declared kitniyot kosher for Passover. However, most of these rabbis are too busy to respond to individual questions. Some orthodox rabbis still ban the use of legumes on Passover.

The Conservative movement, on the other hand, allows the consumption of kitniyot during Passover. The rabbinic authorities of this movement reasoned that the ban was old.

Koshering the household for Passover

Observant Jews will kosher their homes before the Passover festival. The Torah states that chametz should not be found in your home during Passover. The rabbinical opinion is to use a special pot called a koshering pot when cleaning the house for the holiday.

During the Passover festival, grains and legumes are banned. Chametz is defined as fermented grain products. It is used to fulfill the mitzvot of Bitul Chametz and Biur Chametz.

Kitniyot are small, fleshless seeds of annual plants. Most rabbis agree that they may be used during the Passover festival, but some disagree.

Other foods that can be eaten during Passover include oat matzah. This is for those who cannot digest wheat. However, oat matzah must be approved by the rabbinical authority. The rabbinical opinion is to not eat any foods with leavening.

You can also find Passover guidebooks. These are available in many different denominations and classifications. The most important thing to remember is that a koshering pot is needed for the Hagalah process.

There are also some other items that you will need to kosher for the Passover. These include a sieve, a grater and wooden handle utensils. You will need to thoroughly clean these items before using them.

You will also need to buy your meat from a butcher who has a good reputation. You should purchase it with integrity, and make sure that the butcher is kosher.

For a list of kosher items for the Passover, you can check with your local rabbinical council. You can also ask your observant rabbi. The rabbinical council will be able to give you a list of Passover kosher food and drinks.

Koshering the household for Passover can be a very complex process, but it is very rewarding. You will be able to prepare a wonderful Passover feast for your family and friends.

Reciting the Motzi blessing over matzah

During the Seder, there is a tradition of reciting the Motzi blessing over matzah. This is done before a meal and is a ritual that helps to focus the meaning of the moment. There are several variations of this blessing. One of them is the Baruch Atah version that is popular with the Jewish Renewal Movement. The other version is the ruach version, which uses wind as a symbol of breath.

There are also Ashkenazim and Sefardim who do not recite the haMotzi blessing over matzah. The prevailing Lubavitch custom is to not extend the stringency until the afikoman. This does not mean that the mitzvah of eating is not respected. However, it does mean that there is not enough matzah to satisfy everyone’s appetite.

Before reciting the haMotzi, participants wash their hands. The water should be poured twice over the left hand and the rest over the right hand. After washing, it is important to dry your hands.

During the Seder, the leader recite the haMotzi prayer. He keeps all the people at the table in mind when reciting the blessing. He then holds the two loaves together.

The person reciting the haMotzi prayer then places the loaves together. This is done as part of a longer blessing. After the haMotzi is recited, the third and smaller matzah is set down. This is a symbolic gesture, reminiscent of Joseph’s tunic.

The head of the table then recite the kiddush over the wine. Then the challah is dipped in salt. This symbolizes the tears that were shed by the Israelites during slavery.

The second half of the matzah is used as the afikoman. This is not eaten until after the k’zah blessing.

Main Menu